The People's Pamphlets

The People's Pamphlets
Friday, October 9, 2015 to Wednesday, November 25, 2015

The People’s Pamphlets is a risograph edition of 25 tri-fold pamphlets by contemporary artists. Brochures are not thematically oriented, rather they animate the interests of each individual artist in a wildly disparate, fantastically in-cohesive manner. While digitally distributed media has fast usurped pen and paper as a means of communication, certain public spaces remain deeply hospitable to the dynamism and efficacy of print media. Festivals, welcome centers, information kiosks, transit depots, shopping hubs and the like remain stocked with brochures, bi-folds, tri-folds, pamphlets, fliers, and circulars—all free for the indiscriminate taking. As a curatorial endeavor, the People’s Pamphlets is situated within of history of the artist-brochure in the broader context of artists' books and ephemera, and considers the continued relevance of print within sites of spectacle, tourism or travel – particularly as these spaces themselves continue to digitize. To that end, the project also operates within the broader history of cultural “festivalism” which has deep roots in grand tours, world’s fairs, biennials and, more recently, trade expositions and art fairs. The name is a nod to the Chicago Cultural Center, which was once coined the "People’s Palace" and remains central a destination for culture and…pamphlets. Curated by Jessica Cochran.

Pamphlets By:

Conrad Bakker 
Judith Brotman
Phaedra Call 
Johanna Drucker
Gurl Don’t Be Dumb
Rachel Foster
Krista Franklin
Dianna Frid
Maria Gaspar
Lise Haller Baggesen Ross
Kelly Lloyd
Adelheid Mers
Michael Milano
Cathy Alva Mooses
Melissa Potter
Jilian Bruschera
Adam Pantić (Pulp & Pastry)
Ernesto Pujol
Academy Records
Maddie Reyna
Ryan Richey
Eric Ruschman
Fred Sasaki
Kyle Schlie
Leonardo Selvaggio
Cauleen Smith
Shaan Syed
Sonja Thomsen
Ian Weaver

Opening:

Friday, October 9, 2015 - 6:00pm

Special Event:

A pamphlet making workshop will be held with artist Kyle Schlie. Please register through spudnikpress.org/classes
Saturday, October 17, 2015 - 2:00pm
Spudnik Press Cooperative
1821 W Hubbard Suite 302
Chicago
Phone: 3125630302

Neighborhood:

West Town
Fees:

The exhibition is free, and guests are encouraged to take home their favorite pamphlets. The community workshop is a suggested $20 donation. 

Chicago-based artists include:

Conrad Bakker: http://www.untitledprojects.com/index3.php Judith Brotman: http://judithbrotman.com/home.html Phaedra Call: http://www.phaedracall.com/ Lise Haller Baggesen Ross, Gurl Don’t Be Dumb: http://duh.gurldontbedumb.com/ Rachel Foster: http://www.rachelefoster.com/ Krista Franklin: http://www.kristafranklin.com/ Dianna Frid: http://www.diannafrid.net/ Maria Gaspar: http://mariagaspar.com/home.html Kelly Lloyd: http://www.k-lloyd.com/ Adelheid Mers: http://adelheidmers.org/ Michael Milano: http://michaelmilano.net/ Melissa Potter: http://www.melpotter.com/ Jilian Bruschera Adam Pantić (Pulp & Pastry) Academy Records: http://www.academyrecords.org/ Maddie Reyna: http://maddiereyna.com/ Ryan Richey: http://ryanbrichey.com/home.html Fred Sasaki (no website) Kyle Schlie: http://kyleschlie.com/ Leonardo Selvaggio: http://leoselvaggio.com/ Cauleen Smith: http://www.cauleensmith.com/ Sonja Thomsen: http://sonjathomsen.com/ Ian Weaver